Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela

Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela born in 18 July 1918 and died in 5 December 2013; Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela was a South African politician and activist. He was the first President of south Africa democratically elected in a fully represented democratic election on 27 April 1994. so he was the first black President of south africe .
Mandela is sometimes is also called by his Xhosa clan name of Madiba.
Nelson Mandela was honored with the following:
-In 1990, Mandela received the Bharat Ratna Award in India.
-In 1992 received Pakistan’s Nishan-e-Pakistan.
-In 1992, he was awarded the Atatürk Peace Award by Turkey. He refused the award, because of human rights violations committed by Turkey at the time.He later accepted the award in 1999.
-In 1993, Mandela won the Nobel Peace Prize with F. W. de Klerk for their work during the civil rights revolution in South Africa.
-In 2007, Mandela was honored with a statue in Westminster Abbey, London, England.
-In 2009, the United Nations made 18 July Mandela Day.
-In 2013, a statue of Mandela was unveiled in the South African embassy outside of Washington, D.C..
-The city of Johannesburg awarded him Freedom of the City.
-Sandton Square in Johannesburg was renamed Nelson Mandela Square in March 2004.
-The Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium was named in his honor.
-The Nelson Mandela Bridge, in Johannesburg was also named in his honor.
-Mandela was awarded the US Presidential Medal of Freedom by then-President of the United States George W. Bush.
-Mandela was awarded the Order of Canada.
-Mandela was the first living person made an honorary Canadian citizen.
-Mandela was the last recipient of the Soviet Union’s Lenin Peace Prize from the Soviet Union.
-Mandela first recipient of the Al-Gaddafi International Prize for Human Rights
-Mandela was honored with the Order of the Aztec Eagle by the Mexican government.
-A park in Leicester, England was named Nelson Mandela Park was named after Mandela.
-Elizabeth II awarded him the Bailiff Grand Cross of the Order of St John.
Mandela was also awarded the Order of Merit by Elizabeth II.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *